March Wrap Up/April TBR

Oh wow! We are over a week into April and I am very late with this post!

In March, I read 2 books:

I finished The Girl Who Came Home by Hazel Gaynor & I also read Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult.

I started to read Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick and I finished that last night (April 8).

The Girl Who Came Home was about the sinking of the Titanic. It is told in flashbacks to the disaster and what is considered present day in the novel. This was the second time I read this book and I enjoyed every part of it even more this second time around.

Small Great Things is such a relevant read to right now. When an African American nurse is told she can’t touch a newborn baby but then is the only one around when this baby is in distress, what is she to do? This is a compelling novel that makes you think about everything.

For my April TBR:

IMG_7509.JPG

Finish Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick. So even though I finished this book before this post I will about it my next Wrap Up/TBR post. But if you can’t wait, check out @ms.m_reads on Instagram for a bit of an update!

IMG_7547

Read The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey. I have no clue what this is about. I think maybe zombies? So a bit out there for me, but the back was just so intriguing: “Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don;t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite. But they don’t laugh.” So this seems like it’ll be a fun read.

Finally, read Orphan #8 by Kim van Alkemade. In this novel a young girl is separated from her family during WW II and sent to an orphanage were she undergoes experimental treatments. Years later she encounters the man who performed these experiments on her. This time she is in the dominant position. What does she do?

I am hoping that for May I’ll be able to have more than three books on my TBR list and I’ll actually get this #52Books2017 challenge rolling!

What are you reading this month? Comment below!

-O

2 thoughts on “March Wrap Up/April TBR

Leave a Reply

