April Wrap-Up//May TBR

April Wrap-Up

Well my April reading didn’t quite go as planned…

I anticipated reading three books last month: finishing Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick, The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey, and Orphan #8 by Kim van Alkemade. I started off GREAT! I finished Scrappy Little Nobody which was AMAZINGGGGG (more on that below) and began The Girl With All the Gifts. But then I had to stop at the campus library to a meeting and decided to look at the new book shelf (when will I learn?). I ended up checking out Little Deaths by Emma Flint and put my other book on hold. Well it took the rest of the month to read that book, which I finished on May 1st.

Here’s what I thought of the two books I read this month:

Scrappy Little Nobody-Anna Kendrick: This book was 5 star material in my opinion. I received this book at Christmas and had to control myself not to read it super quickly. Anna Kendrick is funny and charming and her stories are priceless! I would love to meet her one day although I feel I already have by reading her memoir. If you need a funny beach read this summer, pick up this.

Little Deaths-Emma Flint: IMG_7706

This book was a two star book. Although I’m happy I read it and it did keep me interested, I wouldn’t pick it up again. The ending seemed like a cheap way out even though I was a twist I didn’t see coming until a few pages before.  This read like a true crime novel and I felt like I was reading an episode of Law & Order.

May TBR: 

So this month started out with me posting on my bookstagram @ms.m_reads about how I was just going to finish Little Deaths and keep working on last month’s book list. IMG_7704

Well then I went to the library.

I happened to check out SEVEN books.

So my new TBR post looks a little like this…

IMG_7709

I have two weeks to read these, and I’m almost finished with the first one.

  1. Good Time Coming-C.S Harris
  2. I Liked My Life-Abby Fabiaschi
  3. The Trophy Child-Paula Daly
  4. Reconstructing Amelia-Kimberly McCreight
  5. Where They Found Her-Kimberly McCreight
  6. What Was Mine-Helen Klein Ross
  7. The Program-Suzanne Young

As I finish each of these I’ll begin writing next month’s wrap up post.

I also found the OverDrive App too which may become dangerous to my reading addiction as I can borrow and download books from ANYWHERE!

As for an update on #52Books2017 I am currently reading book #9 Good Time Coming-C.S. Harris and #10 Grey-E.L. James (Yesss the 50 Shades novel…but I had to test out this ebook app!).

Let me know what you’re reading this month in the comments below!

-O

 

Leave a Reply

